This post will discuss the two most important certificates of Kubernetes. CKA which stands for Certified Kubernetes Administrator and CKAD which stands for Certified Kubernetes Application Developer.

We will start by discussing what is common in these two exams followed by how they both are different and how you can prepare to clear these exams. So, without any delay let’s get started.

The two exams I will be discussing are from the Linux Foundation which are the Certified Kubernetes Administrator (CKA) which is located here and the Certified Kubernetes Application Developer (CKAD) is located here

What is common in both the exams?

  • The cost of both the certifications is $300 USD.
  • Both the exams have around a dozen practical tasks that you need to complete over a specific amount of time. Some tasks are difficult; some are easy. The score you get after completing each task depends on how complex it is.
  • Don’t be sad if you don’t get the desired score in the exam. You get one free retake per exam.
  • Moreover, in both the exam you can open an additional tab with the documentation located for the reference during the exam.

Become a Certified Kubernetes Administrator (CKA)! Difference between both the exams:

The purpose of CKA( Certified Kubernetes Administrator) is to assure the applicant must have the skill, knowledge and competency to perform the responsibilities of Kubernetes administrators whereas CKAD is only about concepts such as deployments, DaemonSets, Pods and other API primitives. We can call CKAD as a lighter version of the CKA exam.

CKAD exams make sure that the applicant can design, build, configure and expose native cloud applications for Kubernetes whereas CKA exam requires knowledge of Kubernetes internals such as etcd, tls bootstrap, and kubelet.

#kubernetes #kubernetes-cluster #certification #devops

Choosing the right Kubernetes Certification (CKA vs CKAD)
30.00 GEEK